Angola BZA Names Moore Chair And Roe Vice-Chair
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

ANGOLA - Angola Middle School Science teacher Brant Moore was reappointed as the chairman of the Angola Board of Zoning and Appeals.

On Monday, during the Angola BZA meeting at City Hall, Moore was unanimously voted by the BZA board as chairman for the BZA and his vice-chairman was nominated to be Phil Roe of Croxton & Roe Insurance Services.

Roe replaces former BZA Vice-Chairman Howard McKeever.

Other board members include Susan Ralston of Jacobs Insurance Agency and Mike Sutter of the Steuben County Council on Aging and the newly appointed Chris Thomas of AMC Marine Sales and Services.

Angola City Planner Brett Steele was named secretary of the BZA.

Also in attendance was Angola City Attorney Kim Shoup.

The BZA is the local government body, quasi-judicial in nature, that is empowered by State Law to consider granting relief from the requirements of the zoning ordinance.

The BZA allows property owners with unique conditions on their property to seek relief. Their decisions are required by state law to be guided by specific criteria, and made based upon the facts, not opinions.